DAAD is proud to announce the winners of the 2018 DAAD/GSA Best Book and Article Prizes awarded on September 28th, 2018, at the 42nd Annual Conference of the German Studies Association in Pittsburgh, PA:

B. Venkat Mani (Dept. of German, Nordic, and Slavic, University of Wisconsin) is the winner of this year’s prize for the best book in Germanistik or Cultural Studies published during the years 2016 or 2017. His book Recoding World Literature: Libraries, Print Culture, and Germany’s Pact with Books was published by the Fordham University Press in 2016. The Book Prize Committee was chaired by Mara Wade (University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana) and included Vance Byrd (Grinnell College) and Marco Abel (University of Nebraska, Lincoln).

Jesse Spohnholz (Dept. of History, Washington State University) is the winner of this year’s prize for the best book in History or Social Sciences published during the year 2017. His book The Convent of Wesel: The Event that Never was and the Invention of Tradition was published by the Cambridge University Press in 2017. The Book Prize Committee was chaired by Anthony Steinhoff (Université du Québec à Montréal) and included Professors Carina Johnson (Pitzer College) and Michael Meng (Clemson University).

Kerstin Steitz (Dept. of World Languages & Cultures, Old Dominion University) was awarded this year’s prize for the best article in any discipline published in the German Studies Review during 2017. Her article “Juristische und Epische Verfremdung. Fritz Bauers Kritik am Frankfurter Auschwitz-Prozess (1963–1965) und Peter Weiss’ dramatische Prozessbearbeitung Die Ermittlung. Oratorium in 11 Gesängen (1965)” appeared in the GSR, Vol. 40 [No. 1], February 2017. The Article Prize Committee included Yaïr Mintzker (Princeton University), Harry Liebersohn (University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana), May Mergenthaler (Ohio State University), and Laurie Marhoefer (University of Washington).

Congratulations to all winners! DAAD is proud to sponsor these awards, which encourage and recognize scholarly excellence.